Skip to main content

Copyright Law: Primary Law

This guide provides an overview of materials available through the Hamilton County Law Library and online that are useful in researching the copyright status of a work and the law of copyright.

Resources at the Hamilton County Law Library

About this Guide

This guide surveys materials available at the Hamilton County Law Library and freely available online that are useful in registering a copyright, researching the copyright status of a work, and learning about the law of copyright.

DisclaimerHamilton County Law Library staff, as a service to its patrons, provides reference services and information, including these research guides. To protect the public interest, Ohio law requires that legal advice and services be rendered only by qualified attorneys who are subject to the guidelines of the courts. Library staff members do not interpret the law, provide legal advice, or explain court procedures. The information provided is not a substitute for legal advice from a licensed attorney.  None of our services shall be construed as giving legal advice.

Primary Law - Statutes

Below you will find Sections of the United States Code pertaining to copyright

The Constitutional Provision Respecting Copyright

The Congress shall have Power . . .To  promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts by securing for limited Times to Authors and Inventors the exclusive Right to their respective Writings and Discoveries.

United States Constitution. Article 1, Section 8

Title 17, Copyrights


17 U.S.C. §§ 101 - 122 - Subject Matter & Scope of Copyright

17 U.S.C. §§ 201 - 205 - Copyright Ownership & Transfer

17 U.S.C. §§ 301 - 305 - Duration of Copyright 

17 U.S.C. §§ 401 - 412 - Copyright Notice, Deposit, & Registration

17 U.S.C. §§ 501 - 513 - Copyright Infringement, & Remedies

17 U.S.C. §§ 601 - 603 - Importation & Exportation

17 U.S.C. §§ 701 -709 - Copyright Office

17 U.S.C. §§ 801 - 805 - Proceedings by Copyright Royalty Judges

17 U.S.C. §§ 901 - 914 - Protection of Semiconductor Chip Products

17 U.S.C. §§ 1001 - 1010 - Digital Audio Recording Devices & Media

17 U.S.C. § 1101 - Sound Recordings & Music Videos

17 U.S.C. §§ 1201 - 1205 - Copyright Protection & Management Systems

17 U.S.C. §§ 1301 - 1332 - Protection of Original Designs

17 U.S.C. Appendix A - The Copyright Act of 1976

17 U.S.C. Appendix B - The Digital Millenium Copyright Act

17 U.S.C. Appendix C - The Copyright Royalty and Distribution Reform Act of 2004

17 U.S.C. Appendix D - The Satellite Home Viewer Extension & Reauthorization Act

                                           of 2004

17 U.S.C. Appendix E - The Intellectual Property Protection & Courts Amendment Act

                                            of 2004

17 U.S.C.  Appendix F - The Prioritizing Resouces & Organization  for Intellectual Property

                                           Act of 2008

17 U.S.C. Appendix G - The Satellite Television Extension & Localism Act of 2010

17 U.S.C. Appendix H - Crimes & Criminal Procedure, U.S. Code

17 U.S.C. Appendix I - Judiciary & Judicial Procedure, U.S. Code

17 U.S. C. Appendix J - Title 44 - Public Printing & Documents, U.S. Code

17 U.S.C. Appendix K - The Berne Convention Implementation Act of 1988

17 U.S.C. Appendix L - The Uruguay Round Agreements Act of 1994

17 U.S.C. Appendix M - GATT/Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights

                                           (TRIPs) Agreement, Part II\

17 U.S.C. Appendix N - Definition of "Bern Convention Work"

Links above provided by the United States Copyright Office

A print version of the United States Code Service, Lawyers Edition including annotations is available for use at the Library.

Copyright Provisions in the Code of Federal Regulations

37 C.F. R.-  Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights

Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations is available in several formats.

Copyright Office 

The U.S. Copyright Office provides the full text of Title 37 on its website.  It is searchable through an expandable table of contents.

Government Publishing Office

The Government Publishing Office provides access to the Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations.  Researchers can browse, search by citation,  or search the full text  of Title 37 using keywords.

Cornell Legal Information Institute

Cornell's Legal Information Institute provides the full text of Title 37 that is searchable by an expandable table of contents.  Links to legislative history and related statutes are also available.

Subject Guide

Contact Us

The Law Library is open Courthouse hours, Monday-Friday, 8:00-4:00. 

For directions to the library, see:

We cannot provide research by phone or email, except for governmental officials and subscribers.  Please come into the library for research guidance and self-help.

In person: Hamilton County Courthouse 1000 Main Street, 6th floor Cincinnati, Ohio 45202

By phone: 513.946.5300

On the web:

By fax: 513.946.5252

By email: