Skip to main content

Welcome!: Online Resources

An introductory guide to the services and resources of the Hamilton County Law Library, primarily intended for newer and prospective library users. The services described in the guide are typically restricted to paid subscribers and to county officials.

May I Access These Products Off-Site?

It depends.  Following the description of each legal information resources to the right, we note how it may be accessed and by whom.  As a general rule:

We offer extensive free legal information resources to everyone via our website.  See the Research tab.

We offer all of the legal information resources that we pay for to our subscribers and to county officials on-site at the Law Library.

We offer some of the legal information resources to our subscribers for off-site access.  This determination is dictated by subscriber type and size of law firm, typically. 

Here's the one real catch:  Attorneys whose law firms do not subscribe to the Law Library are welcome to subscribe individually and use all resources on-site but those attorneys do not have access to proprietary online legal resources off-site.  We would be happy to prepare a quote for your firm, though.

What's My Login?

Your Hamilton County Law Library login is your last name and your library borrower number.  If you're not sure of that, please call the Law Library at 513.946.5300 and be prepared to provide some identifying information.  We'll be happy to provide you with your login.

What If I Need Research Help?

As you'll see under the Research Help tab above, our law librarians are in the business of providing research help.  Just ask.  Also, we offer these other options:

Most online legal information resources have good online help with self-guided training and research guides.

We offer CALI, the online legal tutorials system used by most law schools.  It includes many tutorials on legal research methodology.

We offer Lexis and Westlaw CLEs once or twice a year.

We will give you a short introduction to using any of our online legal resources.  Ask a member of the reference staff.

Which Online Legal Resources Does the Law Library Offer?

See below for an alphabetical listing of the online legal information products (a.k.a. databases) that the Law Library offers.  This is introductory; please speak with a member of the reference staff here for more information and searching assistance.

 

Aspen / Loislaw Treatises

Over 70 full-text online treatises in 16 substantive areas, including personal injury, drunk driving, commercial real estate, bankruptcy, and more

Access >>>  On-site by subscribers and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

CCH IntelliConnect Business, Tax, and Labor & Employment

Contains extensive content on banking, securities, exchanges and SROs, corporate governance, international, trade regulation, products liability and safety, government contracts, information technology, federal energy guidelines, transportation, pension and benefits, employment law, safety / OSHA / workers' compensation, health law, human resources management, payroll, forms, accounting and audit, federal, state, and sales tax, financial and estate planning, special entities, pension and payroll, and international, as well as many forms and tools.

Access >>>  On-site by subscribers and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

CCH Newsletters
Extensive newsletter and summary content fromWolters Kluwer / CCH Business, Tax, and Human Resources resources

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

EBSCOhost

Providing online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center™ contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

Access >>> On-site by the public, subscribers, and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

Fastcase
50 states cases, federal cases (including bankruptcy court), and links to all state and federal statutes, regulations and filings.

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

HeinOnline

Over 1000 full-text law journals, Federal Register, US Supreme Court opinions, US Attorney General opinions, Session Laws/State Statutes, treatises, and monographs

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; Access within county offices; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

Loislaw

LoislawConnect, from Wolters Kluwer Law & Business provides you access to dozens of full-text treatises.  See Aspen, above.

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

National Consumer Law Center

Call the Law Library (513-946-5300) for login information for our subscribers. Includes Access to Utility, Arbitration, Automobile Fraud, Banking, Bankruptcy, Class Actions, Collection Actions, cost of Credit, Credit discrimination, Fair Credit reporting, Fair Debt Collection, Foreclosures, Repossessions, Student Loans, Truth in Lending, Unfair Deceptive Practices, and Warranty

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; Off-site by county officials, subscribing solo attorneys, and attorneys with subscribing firms

 

Ohio Capitol Connection

Ohio General Assembly contact information, bill tracking, and news

Access >>> On-site by staff only.  Staff will run searches and set up tracking on behalf of subscribers and county officials.

 

PACER

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator via the Internet.

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; documents printed for the public for a per page printing fee

 

Westlaw

Ohio and national legal forms, electronic versions of Ohio practice forms from the Baldwin's Practice library, jury verdicts, American Jurisprudence forms, and more.

Access >>> On-site by subscribers and county officials; No off-site access.

Subject Guide